RAeS Loughborough Branch

Latest News


Photo Solar Impulse

10 January 2018:   The National Aerospace Library's archives contains a batch of historic sound recordings - "A real Who's Who of aviation personalities and historical subjects". The RAeS has now made these podcasts available on its SoundCloud site https://soundcloud.com/aerosociety-podcast/sets.  Just click the link to hear interviews with, among others, Captain Eric 'Winkle' Brown, Scott Crossfield, John Cunningham, Handel Davies, Sir Frederick Handley Page, Jeffrey Quill, Sir Barnes Wallis and Chuck Yeager.  They can be freely accessed but if if they are reproduced, in whole or in part, acknowledgement should be made to the Royal Aeronautical Society (National Aerospace Library) as the source of the originals.

8 May 2018:  At the 2017/18 AGM all members of the branch committee were re-elected and were pleased to welcome two new members, Prof Jim McGuirk, FRAeS, FREng who replaces John Ollerhead as Chairman (now Assistant Secretary) and Dr Adrian Spencer FRAeS.  See the full membership on the Contacts page  

Minutes of the meeting can be read here or on the About the Branch page.

The Programme page will be updated before our next season.  In the meantime you can preview the 2018/19 lecture programme here.

Page last updated 12 May 2018